Government Tells Community to be Tolerant as Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast All to Receive More Social Housing

Brisbane will accommodate about 1,100 – set to be developed in suburbs including Mitchelton, Bowen Hills, Wooloongabba, Chermside, Newmarket and Red Hill.

Another 1,200 units will be developed on the Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast.

Housing Minister Karen Struthers said “The NIMBY (Not in my Backyard) stuff is such a shame.”

“The arguments (for objections) are usually practical things about car parks…but sometimes when we dig a little deeper that’s masking general concern about social housing tenants coming into their neighbourhoods,” she said.

Brisbane Housing Company is co-ordinating the construction of the dwellings.

Share or Recommend article

Marc Pallisco

A former property analyst and print journalist, Marc is the publisher of